Helping a Friend Helps Yourself

Would you like to know what struck me like a lightening bolt this morning? Helping others makes me happier. Oh, I know, you’ve probably heard this before, and I’ve told myself the same thing countless times, but it hit me again this morning.

During the last month, I’ve been consumed with finishing the new book coming out, wrapping up an art project, and working on things for my daughter’s wedding which is coming up in December here on our farm. This left little room for helping my friends and family with their disappointments and anxieties.

Last week, several situations popped up that allowed me to help a friend or family member. Not only did it keep me busy, but I walked around with a more joyful attitude. Also, I was able to accomplish many more tasks for myself as well. Something about having the right attitude makes you more productive and eager to get more done.

Are you depressed? Overwhelmed? Discouraged? Go out and help a friend. There is always someone who is in a worse situation than you are. Find someone who just needs a listening ear or a helping hand. I guarantee … it will make you feel better, and your load will seem a whole lot lighter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

