Positive? or Negative?

Hello my friends,

Did you enjoy your Christmas and New Year’s holidays? I blinked….and mine was over. My daughter was married on December the 17th here on our farm, and with the wedding preparations and clean up afterwards, my holidays went by in a whirl. We were all so busy, but it was a good kind of busyness.

Alexander Graham Bell once said, “When one door closes another door opens; but we so often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door, that we do not see the ones which open for us.”

Now that the flutter of activity is over, I’m settling down to normal life again, and I find I’m missing my daughter. Yes, she’s married to a man she loves and is happy, and yes, she still calls me every day, but it’s easy for me to dwell on missing her, instead of the happiness accompanying her marriage.

One door closed, but another door opened.

The door that opened was that my husband and I did not lose a daughter, but we gained a new “son,”…. a man we are proud to welcome into our family, and a man who proves every day that he will love and take care of our daughter.

Is it hard for you to see the advantages of a door that has been slammed in your face? Or to see the positive side of a negative situation? It was for me until I finally realized that attitude is a choice. I can dwell on the negative depressing thoughts or I can choose to search for the more uplifting aspect of every situation. Focusing on the positive instead of the negative makes a huge difference.

If I find myself dwelling on sad thoughts, and I do, my New Year’s resolution is this: No negative emotion will stay in my thoughts more than 5 seconds. After that time, I search out something positive about the situation and let that fill my thoughts.

Try it. It certainly makes my life more uplifting, and helps me accept those discouraging changes that life often throws my way.

“A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.” Proverbs 17:22

2 thoughts on “Positive? or Negative?

Leave a Reply

