The Devil is After Me!

Do you ever feel the Devil attacking you? During the last few days, I’ve decided the Devil is at war with me. For some reason, he has been trying to discourage me by attacking me through my health. Normally, I eat healthy, I exercise, and I feel great. In spite of this, since the middle of December, I’ve had two colds, tendinitis in one wrist and carpal tunnel in the other (which is not good for a writer) a sinus infection, and as I was recovering from the sinus infection, I came down with food poisoning. Doesn’t that sound like war to you?

However, this morning I read something that encouraged me and gave me hope. It was in the book of Jude, verse 9. It says, “Yet Michael the archangel, in contending with the devil, when he disputed about the body of Moses, dared not bring against him a reviling accusation, but said, “The Lord rebuke you!”

Can you imagine that? Even the archangel of God “dared not” battle with Satan himself. He simply told the Devil, “The Lord rebuke you!”

Moses told the children of Israel, “The Lord will fight for you, and you shall hold your peace.” We are just as much the children of God as the children of Israel, and we can “hold our peace,” or rest in the promise that God will fight our battles for us.

If you think about all the battles we fight on this earth, ultimately, they can be considered spiritual battles, and we can’t fight them alone. GOD fights MY battles for me, but only if I let Him. I always try to solve my problems myself. If I need help, the first “go-to” person I turn to is my husband, or another family member. I’m embarrassed to say that sometimes I forget to turn to the Lord for help first. Prayer is a POWERFUL privilege God has given us, and we need to ask for His help in all our battles with Satan.

I’m not saying we should sit back and do nothing. God expects us to stand our ground and stand up for righteousness, but we should only act after we seek His guidance and His wisdom.

My battle with the Devil is over. I’m letting the Lord take over now. If I catch another cold, I know it will be because the Lord thinks it’s best for me to slow down a while, but it will not be because the Devil is winning the war!

2 thoughts on “The Devil is After Me!

  1. Thank you for your essay. Having one health issue after another will get anyone down. I hope you are on the mend. You are right that it is important to give these things to God. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

